When the Skiing is Good and the Tetons Are Clear. Acts of Joy.

 

 

 

 

 

Hello, Lovely Bluebirds! 

And Merry Christmas! 

It’s funny. I’ve never really been fond of Edward Abbey, one writer speaking of another. But sometimes, like topaz in the sand, I find a gem amidst a huge body of work that I’ve studied. If anything, I admire the man’s ability to live and write about the experience he was living. If only everyone could be so lucky…lucky enough to have the courage to transform every day tasks into acts of joy. 

 

“Give what you can, but do not burn yourselves out — or break your hearts. Let us save at least half of our lives for the enjoyment of this wonderful world which still exists. Leave your dens, abandon your cars and walk out into the great mountains, the deserts, the forests, the seashores. Those treasures still belong to all of us. Enjoy them to the full, stretch your legs, expand your lungs, enliven your hearts…”

edward abbey

 

This Christmas was a beautiful one. I had the chance to see all my immediate family and my favorite friends. I had the chance to experience one of the best days skiing and to spend some time renewing and relaxing. So here are some random photos for you, bluebirds: 

Image

Some strung bracelets I made from seed beads.

Image

Fire puja fire tending. 

 

 

Image

Khenpo and Susan playing in the background.

 Image 

Image 

Lovers 

Image

Me and bro playing in Inkom, iD. 

Image

The crew skiing with Tetons in the background. Such a lovely bluebird day! 

 

Image

 

Me and Sunny Blue on the Dreamcatcher lift. Grand Targhee Ski Area. 

 

 Image

Preparing for the Pray For Snow celebration in Missoula. 

Image

 The good old Tetons. View from south aspect of Grand Targhee Ski Area. 

Image

Me and B-love in Inkom, ID. 

 

It was good to see friends and family. Was good to ski under sunshine with ski spraying everywhere and laughter bouncing off of rock and snow and trees. It was beautiful to spend mornings sleeping in and watching faint blue light from snow outside come in and remind us of the bitter cold (and beauty!) in the mountains and fields outside the house. It was good to drink good coffee for hours every morning. I cherish the early morning chugging coffee and driving to Grand Targhee to spend a day with my favorite people doing one of the things I love to do most. That’s what it means to live…do what makes you happy with people that make you happy. It will feel good to go back to Missoula with renewed motivation to do the work I need to do for my big art show in February. It will feel good to go back with renewed dedication to train for my big race in March, to ski, and to commit to my yoga practice seriously again. A lot of things just feel good. 

Christmas and Idaho are always so good to me…I hope it was for you too! 

Warmly, 

J. 

 

One thought on “When the Skiing is Good and the Tetons Are Clear. Acts of Joy.

Leave a Reply

