On the Concept of Growth and Regrowth. And Cake I Can’t Eat.

Hello, lovely bluebirds!

Yesterday I did seven hours worth of sojourning–that is, I was traveling by myself with the goal of eventually ending up in Pocatello to spend Easter with my family. I decided to go through Salmon instead of the traditionally [boring] way. It was gorgeous the entire way. Snowcapped peaks punctuated endless undulations of sandy plains and sagebrush. Even at night the entire corridor is beautiful because the light lasts forever and as you are driving southeast, the color of the light (which resembles that of a blood orange) lasts forever and tends to make silhouettes that you can see until about 10 p.m. The Salmon-Challis is one of my favorite areas I’ve ever been to or worked in. I don’t know why I ever go the other way. I stopped at the brewery (visit http://bertramsbrewery.com) and had a brown ale 
and talked with some folks in Salmon proper and walked up to the top of one of the steep hills to look at the town and the river; the river brings life, energy, and rejuvenation to everything within the reach of its swift fingertips. I love the places I get to live in and explore. I haven’t been out sojourning in awhile and I just remembered how much a part of me it is. Introverted yet exploratory. It’s really fun to get to know the people who live in all these small towns…to form relationships with them; it makes me really happy when I come through little towns and see that they are doing okay and smiling at the bakery, espresso shop, the market, the breweries, the bookstores, the gas stations, and the various other locales I meet them in. And what is remarkable is that they know my name; that’s why I will never leave this area of the country. I am in love with all the characters and the landscape they play in. That’s the story of a little girl living and existing and flitting around in Southeast Idaho and Montana. 

Check out these snowcapped beauties. They’re like marshmallow peeps that fell in the dirt or dollops of whipped cream on an Oreo/Mocha Almond Fudge ice cream cake or, more befittingly to what I’ve consumed today, black mud coffee with a trickle of coconut milk in it: 

Image

 

Image

 

See the resemblance? 

Today, since it is Easter, I wanted to write about the concept of growth and regrowth–and the distinction between the two. This kaleidoscope we live in is so rich–so multilayered. And the ideas of death, revolution, tragedy, heartbreak, individuation–those things are all part of a masterpiece that only uses them to perpetuate itself. Mountains will always rise and fall, rivers and oceans change the landscape, horses make dust with their hooves as they run from one place to another, and even the slow process of a Ponderosa pine growing changes the soil underneath it. And so it is with every step we take, every word we say, everything we do–it all resonates in the world around us. And it all flows in some way or another. Do things because they feel right…like you are part of something bigger. Don’t succumb to the things that seem average or because you feel obligated to do them or pressured to conform to what everyone else deems to be normal. Be in love with something–yourself, others, the place you live, or all of those things–and that love will find its way back to you in some way or another (perhaps in the form of an Oreo/Mocha Almond Fudge cake…just kidding…but not really). 

It’s funny that I’ve ranted about this specific cake because I A) haven’t had it in years B) My mom never makes it…it was a specialty of my ex-boyfriend’s mom, and C) I am horribly allergic to everything in it, and finally, D) I am diametrically opposed to consuming processed cookies and ice cream in the same dosage. But this post wasn’t supposed to be a diatribe against calorie-ridden and fattening Easter culinary compositions. 

Today I am thankful for my family, the desert, and the beautiful road ride I am going on in the Caribou-Targhee National Forest. My parents are moving up by the ski hill, so I am going to go see their new house and get some sunshine and time on the Madone (miss riding and running every day all day in the summers!). Then later it’ll be time at the red cowgate with Juno and some tea (I’m horrendously sick) and dinner with my lovely family. And–ah!–hopefully I will see some mountain bluebirds. I worship them in a totemic sort of way. Hopefully some beautiful photos to share with you! 

Happy Easter, happy growth, happy regrowth! Have fun eating cake I am allergic to and I will try not to be angry at you. 

I love you, bluebirds! 

The Lyoness

 

2 thoughts on “On the Concept of Growth and Regrowth. And Cake I Can’t Eat.

  1. Wonderful blog! Do yyou have any suggestiions for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m
    a little lost on everything. Would you advise starting with a
    free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out
    theere that I’mtotally confused .. Any tips?
    Thanks a lot!

    • Hi sweets!
      Thanks for reading and reaching out. All I could say to respond is that you should follow your heart and write about whatever ruffles your feathers. And it doesn’t matter what medium you use, be it WordPress, Blogspot, or a notebook and pen. You’ll garner readers who are interested and connected to you in some way whether you pay for a platform or not. I’ve never paid for anything, and it’s taken a few years to get lots of readers. But I can proudly say that all my readers are people who legitimately found my writing in their search for connection. They trickled into The Lyons Roar one at a time. Be authentic, keep writing, and most of all, keep doing what you’re passionate about because THAT is interesting and worth writing about! I’m definitely down to read whatever stories you have to share!

      Have a beautiful bluebird day.

      J.

Leave a Reply

