Realizations. Books. Paths.

 

Image

So today I was reading this book, Women of Wisdom. Thank you, B, for letting me borrow it.  

This is what it is about, from taramandala.org: 

“WOMEN OF WISDOM by Tsultrim Allione is an exploration and celebration of the spiritual potential of women as exemplified by the lives of six Tibetan female mystics. These women achieved full illumination despite cultural prejudices and a host of other problems that male practitioners do not encounter, and their stories are an inspiration to everyone on the spiritual path.

Tsultrim Allione’s extensive autobiography, preface and introduction about her own difficulties and triumphs along the path speak directly to women in the West who pursue a spiritual life. WOMEN OF WISDOM offers valuable insights to all those interested in women’s spirituality, regardless of background or tradition.” 

Needless to say, this book brought about tears and realizations for me. As soon as I had read even the preface (written by a former nun who gave up her vows to become a mother), I was bombarded by an onslaught of tears and realizations about my own struggles as a human, a woman, an artist, and a young adult. I share a lot with you in this space, but I don’t often share things like this. I’ve been searching for meaning, for contentment, for happiness…and I know how to find it. It’s different for everyone, and sometimes it’s hard to realize what we have to do to attain the greatest joys–the greatest love. 

I don’t fit in with people my own age…never have. Sometimes I go days feeling like I am gazing into space, thinking about things in a different world, and living outside of what is real. That’s okay, I think. I believe that most serious writers, artists, etc. live in a different dimension; there are studies to prove that and other things about the psychological states of artists, particularly those involved in writing on a scale that supersedes and takes precedent over all other events in their lives. But this book–and a series of events in the past couple years–have led me to seek some changes in my own life that will lead to the betterment of the world, the eradication of my own fears, insecurities, and attachments, and a more serious exploration of one of the world’s richest cultures. Reading this today made me realize what it will take to become grounded. 

My life is going to change dramatically upon graduation…a path that will lead me across the world and [maybe] back again. 

I love you. All of you. 

J. Bird 

 

Leave a Reply

