Decompressing Vertebrae and Petting Yorkies.

Image

 

This post is mostly ramblings and it is more journalistic than most of my posts…most of them have a specific topic that I muse on, but this posting doesn’t. So beware. 

This morning, I am taking things slow and decompressing my firefighting vertebrae. It’s funny…I think I am getting shorter and shorter with every summer that I have to carry 50+ pounds around on my small frame. Each year that I do fire, the more I realize that I wasn’t really meant to do fire. There are times that I love my job, and times that I get so frustrated that I spend entire days in my own head thinking about alternative life routes. That being said, I am probably going to be in law school in less than a year. 

On a different note, here is a bear trap found in the Wind River Range in the Bridger Teton National Forest: 

Image 

Needless to say, I am thoroughly enjoying the autumn Idaho morning with a pot of coffee and some yoga and running to do. Fire season is [apparently] winding down, which is both regrettable and welcomed in my life right now. But I love being in the Inkhome and hearing the horses whinny and playing with the Yorkpuppy (pictured above) and going on long country runs on roads or up mountains. I really love running uphill for hours at a time. Perhaps I am a sadist. I am getting really excited for all the races I want to do, and I am getting more and more motivated each day. 

And I wrote this article about yoga and life lessons on Elephant Journal. Please enjoy!  

On another note, I am working on Part 2 of the Ashtanga 4th series today. It’s going to take me a long time to learn it all, but I think it’s a good goal for me to work on individually and outside of the other yoga practices that I do. Definitely a challenge for me! 

Finally, here are some random photos for you: 

Image

Image

ImageImage

 

Have a lovely day! 

J. Bird 

 

Leave a Reply

